Close this search box.

Hartley and Bamber inducted into FIA Hall of Fame

2 January 2020



In a ceremony at Automobile Club de France, veteran Kiwi racers Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber were among 29 title winners from the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) inducted into the FIA Hall of Fame. The ceremony celebrated the efforts of world champion endurance racers from around the globe, and the pair joined 33 champions of the FIA Formula 1 World Championship and the 17 winners of the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) inducted in the previous two editions.

“Endurance racing occupies a special place in the history of motorsport as well as in my heart, and the legendary 24 Hours of Le Mans is a major event on the WEC calendar,” FIA president Jean Todt said. “It is, therefore, my greatest pleasure to inaugurate 29 FIA WEC title winners into the FIA Hall of Fame.”

Hartley and Bamber were WEC winners and 24 Hours of Le Mans winners together in 2017, while Hartley also claimed the WEC title in 2015 with Webber and Bernhard for Porsche.